Federal Executive


Carmelo Bonanno


Graduating in 1986, Carmelo practises in the ACT and Queanbeyan, NSW which includes a referral-based practice offering dental treatment under sedation. He has served the ADA in several key positions including President of the NSW branch in 2001 and 2002. Carmelo is a Fellow of the Academy of Dentistry International, the International College of Dentists and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. He served on the Dental Board of Australia from 2009 to 2012.


Dr Terry Pitsikas AM 


Terry graduated as a dental surgeon from the University of Western Australia in 1977. He has worked in both private rural practice and government mobile rural dental clinics. His involvement with the ADA commenced in 1990 via the WA branch where he has served twice as President. He was appointed an ADA Federal Councillor in 1998. Terry was the inaugural Chair of the Western Australian Dental Foundation (WADF), a position he recently relinquished but continues to serve on the WADF Board of Management. He currently practices in a multi-disciplinary inner metropolitan private practice. 


Dr Mark Hutton


Since graduating from Adelaide University in 1975, Mark has been active on a range of local issues in South Australia including water fluoridation in Mt Gambier where his practice is located. Mark has been a SA branch Country Councillor since 1996, serving as President of the SA Branch in 2004 and 2007. In 2004, Mark was elected as a Federal Councillor and was elected to Federal Executive in 2014. He has actively contributed to a wide range of ADA committees including the Constitution and Policy Committee, which he has chaired since 2014. He is a Fellow of the International College of Dentists, the Academy of Dentistry International and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. 


Dr Stephen Liew

First Executive Councillor

Dr Stephen Liew is a past recipient of the Australian Outstanding Young Dentist Award, an ADA Victorian Councillor, and former Victorian President. He has been a representative on multiple state-level dental panels for organisations including Dental Health Services Victoria & Melbourne Dental School. Currently he sits on multiple panels including the Australian Digital Health Agency’s Secure Messaging Steering Group & the 2021 FDI World Dental Congress Organising Committee. He is a Fellow of the International College of Dentists, the Academy of Dentistry International and the Pierre Fauchard Academy.


Dr Martin Webb

Second Executive Councillor

A past ADA Queensland branch President, and current member of the ADAQ Council and Executive, Dr Martin Webb was elected as the Queensland representative to the ADA Federal Council in July 2014. He has served on the ADA’s Schedule and Third Party Committee for 10 years, and for two years on the Audit and Risk Committee. In 2016, Martin was awarded a Distinguished Service Award by the ADAQ, one of only 19 individuals in Queensland’s history to have been awarded this honour.