2022 award recipients

At the conclusion of last year, we once again celebrated members of our ADA community who are making a difference - to the profession, or even to the world. We reach out for nominations every year to recognise the contributions of those oral health professionals who act as mentors, role models and leaders in their field. In the past, our winners have included volunteers, key research contributors and those dedicated to further innovation and education.

In presenting the 2022 ADA Awards and choosing from a field of impressive nominees, the ADA was proud to congratulate the following individuals.

Honorary Life Member

The granting of this honour, being the most senior award granted by the Association, recognises the many years of dedication and tireless service provided by these distinguished members to their profession and to the ADA.

Dr R. Mark Hutton

Mark's contribution to the profession across more than 45 years of dental practice, participation in the activities at both a State and Federal level, serving eight years as an examiner and four years on the Board of the Australian Dental Council have been exemplary.  Mark's significant commitment is recognised by receiving the most senior award granted by the Association.

Professor Laurie Walsh AO

Laurie has served on numerous Branch and Federal Committees, authored a significant number of scientific articles and books, mentored students, received many invitations to lecture both nationally and internationally, and still managed to dedicate time to Special Needs Dentistry.  His service to dentistry and to dental education has been exceptional.  Laurie is a deserving recipient of the most senor award granted by the Association.


Distinguished Service Award

Any dentist who has rendered long and distinguished service to the ADA or to dentistry at a national level.

Dr Andrew Cattermole

Andrew’s contribution as a council member, as president of the Victorian Branch and participation on several key committees has been exemplary. Andrew’s service through periodontics education has also been a significant achievement.

Professor Pauline Ford

Pauline’s commitment to teaching and research activities with a focus on oral health and its role in general health and wellbeing has been exemplary. Pauline is a valued contributor at the University of Queensland – being the first woman to lead a School of Dentistry in the Australian/New Zealand region is quite an achievement.

Professor Lindsay Richards

Lindsay’s service to the profession include both private and public clinical practice, specialist practice in prosthodontics, Australian Dental Council activities, and the International Association for Dental Research Prosthodontics Research Group have all been significant.


Valuable Service Award

Any person who has rendered a valuable service to the ADA or to dentistry at a national level.

Dr Julee Birch

Julee’s contribution to the ADA at both a state and federal level has been significant. Serving on ADA Queensland Branch Council from 2008 to 2019, Branch President in 2016 and volunteering on the Scientific Program for the 2015 Congress has been quite an achievement.  Julee continues to volunteer her expertise as part of the ADHF Dental Rescue Days and makes a significant contribution to the ADHF as the Queensland State Chair.

Dr Peter Foltyn

Celebrating over 50 years as a dental practitioner Peter has been actively supporting oral health care needs for those affected by HIV. His passion for improving the oral health of priority groups within the community is commendable. His involvement in various research projects, educating medical and allied health practitioners about the importance of oral health and being an active clinician at St Vincent's Hospital mentoring junior colleagues is inspirational.

 Dr Errol Kilov

For more than 40 years, Errol has been an outstanding contributor to the Tasmania Branch. His dedication and commitment to teamwork embodies the core behaviours outlined by the ADA. Errol consistently collaborates, respects and mentors new graduates to the local community. Positions held at both a state and national level are a testament to his commitment.

 Dr Tom Tseng

Tom’s work has been recognised both nationally and internationally with fellowships of PFA, AADI and ICD. He has been an active contributor to dental and oral health programs at the University of Sydney and Newcastle, examiner for RACDS and has had a long-standing involvement in the assessment of overseas trained dentists.  His contributions are commendable.

Outstanding Young Dentist

The name of a  young member (under 35 years old) who has made a significant contribution to the Australian Dental Association and/or dentistry and the community at a national level by excelling in their career, reflecting positively on the dental profession and has acted as an ambassador for the profession.

Dr Jilen Patel

This award is in recognition of the significant contribution Jilen has provided to the dental profession. His commitment and contribution to specialist paediatric dentistry, voluntary work, and community service as part of the Kimberley Dental Team and work as a senior lecturer in clinical dentistry at the UWA Dental School is commendable.  The Association is very proud to have a young professional like Jilen as an ambassador for the profession