Our structure

The Australian Dental Association is a not-for-profit professional membership organisation. Its members include the great majority of practicing dentists, nearly all students of dentistry and a committed cohort of retired dentists.  

As a professional association and an incorporated entity, the true 'owners' of the ADA are its members. In order to provide more formal leadership and direction, the ADA adopted a Constitution in 1928 that empowered elected members to govern the organisation.

At a national level, the ADA is governed by a Board, which is responsible for the strategic direction, vision, and high-level operation of the Association. The Board comprises 5 elected ADA member directors and up to 2 appointed directors.